Posted by: meganlpiper | July 8, 2009

To Pack or Not to Pack?

It occurs to me that, because my blog is posted on the GSU Study Abroad page of the GSU website that people who are thinking about studying abroad may read this. In that case, let’s talk about what you need to bring, and dont need to bring for that matter.

To pack:

  • A REALLY good spanish-english dictionary. I have the plastic cover Berlitz compact Spanish dictionary and highly recommend it.
  • A bag for weekend trips, like a bookbag or messenger bag. I recommend messenger (over the shoulder) so that people cant steal from the back of it, like a bookbag. You can use it for books during the week and then other things on the weekends
  • An adaptor for your electronics, the one I got at walmart came with a big converter and four adaptors, it works great for my laptop.
  • A laptop, you will hopefully have WIFI, and its great for occupying yourself, talking to home, and helping with homework
  • Hand sanitizer. You cant get enough of it.
  • Travel toilet paper of tissues, especially for the girls. Bars almost never have it, and some other public places are lacking as well
  • Travel size toiletries because you can buy all of that here
  • Tennis shoes, you really do walk everywhere. I wear flip flops/sandals most of the time, even out at night (dressy ones), but tennis shoes have been the best for long walks on excursions and for exercising in the evening
  • The idea of buying a cell phone here, if you arent going to use skype. I bought a cell phone and minutes for when im gone for the weekend or to get in touch with my friends here.
  • Travel size laundry detergent, if you have anything you would like to hand wash. I hand wash unmentionables and some dresses.

Not to pack:

  • A hair dryer or straightener. They wont work. It doesnt matter what kind of adaptor you have, generally no one here brought one that works well. Thankfully my family has them and lets me use them. You can always buy them here, its the same price as buying them at home, although most of us have looked just as pretty without!
  • High heels. I havent worn heels the whole time, except for a pair of wedge flip flops. Bring wedges if you feel like you need those to be dressy at night, but the streets here and the walking make them a little unrealistic
  • Everything you own. My mom here does plenty of laundry for me to wear the same things without wearing the same things every day.
  • Pillows, blankets, towels, etc. They have all of that here.

That’s all I can think of at the moment, Ill post more if I think about it and as I hear everyone else talking about what they wish they had while here…If you are thinking about studying abroad, DO IT! Its the best experience, and a great decision!

~M

Leave a Reply

Categories

